NOKIA n99i, is it a real NOKIA?


I used AMOI M636 phone more than one year and I had a very pleasant experience with it because it had all the features that I was looking for in a phone to a reasonable price, but unfortunately last December I lost it. After that I had to spend two months borrowing a phone form a friend. One day while I’m on my way to the university I saw this phone named NOKIA n99i at a local shop. Next day I spend some time searching information about the phone model and I couldn’t find any details from the NOKIA’s official web site and some of the leading online phone sellers. So I decided to look for it and I found out that the phone is manufactured at China. After going through its features I decided to go for it though it is not original because the price is very reasonable when compared with other phones in the market having similar features. Some of its cool features are as follows:

So I decided to explorer more into it. By using the following code *#06# I got the IMEI code and going through it I found that the phone has been manufactured in its original company (I got 00 as the 7th and 8th digits). I managed to find that the phone is most likely belongs to Motorola Brand according to the application which I found in the following link.
http://www.numberingplans.com/?page=analysis⊂=imeinr

There I only had to give the IMEI code generated from the phone when I dial *#06#. So if you are also a user of NOKIA n99i and know more information about, I would be grateful if you can share it with me.

72 Comments

  1. Kimani M said,

    April 29, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Hi,

    I bought one but became suscipious and surfed internet to see details then i got your cmment.

    How much did it cost you ? Here in Kenya ( Africa) it Costed me $ 409. Was i cheated ?

    Kimani

  2. hayesha said,

    April 30, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Hi Kimani,

    I also got into the same situation, so thats why I thought of putting the post with the information I found while googling.

    For me it cost me around US$ 300 here in Sri Lanka.

    Hayesha

  3. Jeff said,

    June 11, 2008 at 4:12 am

    You guys both got ripped off. on ebay its only US$ 170 with additional items

  4. hayesha said,

    June 11, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Hi Jeff,

    Thanks for your feedback

    Cheers

  5. grant said,

    July 9, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Hi, is the N99i a decent phone? Any problems with it? I’ve just bought one through ebay and I’m just waiting for delivery. Did I make a mistake in buying one?

  6. hayesha said,

    July 9, 2008 at 11:29 am

    Hi grant,

    The phone I recently bought called Nokia N99i is not a original Nokia, Its software system has a close relationship with Motorola older version, I got to know it when I put the SIM card to the phone the mobile service provider automatically detects the phones running system and send the GPRS and WAP settings. During that process I got to know that it has a relationship with Motorola system.

    Well the phone itself has more features compared with others with the same price and so far I didn’t experience and difficulty in its functionality.

    Cheers.

  7. grant said,

    July 11, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Thanks Hayesha. I’m just waiting for it to arrive so that I can see if it’s a decent phone or not. I’ve recently read a lot of comments by people on other sites about how Chinese phones are rubbish….but I guess I’ll have to see for myself.

  8. dyan said,

    July 13, 2008 at 7:20 am

    hi! I am Dyan, I would like to inquire regarding the n99i and how much it cost? what are the advantage of this mobile? thank you.

  9. Vince said,

    July 13, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    hey guys…, i cant find any themes to download for my N99i…

    i’ve buy it in lebanon by 150$

  10. +kHiM+ said,

    July 14, 2008 at 2:38 am

    yer..i cant find any themes for this n99i of mine..shit..

  11. kitb17 said,

    July 31, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Hi Hayesha,

    I first saw N99i in a local phone shop near our university.
    I briefly checked its features.
    And I think its better than my k770i.

    Then I asked the sales lady how much it cost..
    Well.. it’s very cheap! hmmm….. Too cheap!

    But thats the very reason why i wanted to buy one. I cant afford to buy those expensive phones using my money alone. Im only a student so I can only afford cheaper phones.

    Well, actually i dont have any plans on buying a new phone because my dad gave me my k770i, just a month ago. But i dont its features that much. It looks ordinary to me.

    hirs how it looks like: (k770i)

    While (N99i):

    based on their appearances, it think n99i is cooler.. thats why i love it.

    But i like the camera of my k770i. (3.2 megapixels) unlike the n99i its only (1.3 megapixels). But im after the tv of n99i and its touchscreen.

    Now, after i read your blog. I’m now having second thoughts if im still going to purchase one.

    i also searched Nokia’s official website but there’s no record about it..

    Do i still have to buy this n99i? or should i just stick w/ my phone?

  12. hayesha said,

    August 2, 2008 at 6:49 am

    hi kitb17,

    I think you better not go for n99i over k770i because its not good as an original Nokia.

  13. kitb17 said,

    August 4, 2008 at 2:46 am

    how long n99i will last?

  14. Zsaint88 said,

    August 21, 2008 at 10:24 am

    I bought my Nokia N99i here in the Phil. for only 7k ( 3 megapixels already ).With t.v., and it’s touchscreen.

  15. aussie said,

    September 6, 2008 at 7:33 am

    you cant load themes on the n99i because of the base software.but if you download Microsoft ActiveSync form the microsoft download site you can load cool wallpapers on them.any wallpapers for iphone will work cheers guys

  16. breelee said,

    September 13, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    hy..
    i wanted 2 ask you guys..
    i’ve bought nokia n99i (the one with 1.3 Mega Pixel)
    but accidentally i broke the LCD
    how much do you think it will cost?
    and will it get broker each days?
    please answer my qustion..

  17. hayesha said,

    September 15, 2008 at 4:26 am

    hi breelee,

    I’m also experiencing the same problem, so far I could not get it repaired.

    cheers.

  18. breelee said,

    September 21, 2008 at 5:57 am

    hi hayesha,
    how do you think it will last?
    like, will it get broker or the crack will just stop at some time..?

  19. Jan Ray said,

    October 3, 2008 at 12:53 am

    well it is a good phine considering it’s features… because i have one…
    i think that it will last long if you take good care of it….

    but my problem in my phone is the camera… men there’s no flash at all…
    hehehehehe

    the Nokia N99i model that i have is the one that has 3.0 mega pixel….

    well i really think that it is not a waste of money.. but if it’s broken and there’s nothing you can do to fix it… hell that’s a waste of money….

  20. oscar ontiveros said,

    October 8, 2008 at 1:35 am

    hi!! i live in mexico and i have a cell nokia n99i but i have a big problem!
    a friend was send me a video and mi nokia turnoff. now mi nokia dont work its turn off and turn on. i intent reset with *#7379# and *#780# but its not work…
    i nedd help! please!

  21. bert said,

    October 11, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    i buy the N
    99i IN LAOS BUT ONLY TELEPHONE AND ADAPTER NO BOOK NO CD NOTTING HOW I CAN UPDATE MY PHONE??????? OR SOMBODY CAN TELL ME HOW I CAN DOWNLOAD SOMETHING ABOUT THIS PHONE

  22. moeketsi Pitso said,

    October 14, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    I am using the Nokia N99i unfortunately I used this little cutie fo a month and all of a sudden the camera and the vidio recorder went dead. Can anyone give some light of what might be the problem?

  23. rafael said,

    October 16, 2008 at 8:46 am

    i have n99i
    it has virus and i can’t fix it
    when i open then it is going to close….
    can somebody help me how can i fix it??????

  24. Hee Haa said,

    October 17, 2008 at 10:30 am

    I bought N99I for $100. It is working so for except that the ring volume is at maximun and I can hard hear it. (My ears function normal). So I have missed most calls.
    Anyone know what can be done to have a louder ring, just like the radio and tv sounds, these two are very loud.

  25. guseman said,

    October 23, 2008 at 8:45 am

    i have been using my N99i since over a year ago, but i have a problem with it..first the parts is not readily available..

    Because i broke my touchscreen since almost 7 months ago,so it is only numbers i have on the sim i call call,i cant sent sms nor input new numbers on it…but it is very loud for playing music…and a bit rugged…

  26. Cayne said,

    October 27, 2008 at 4:20 am

    you know folks here in Philippines, it would only cost $100 to buy that phone. You can too ask for a lower price for it. n99i is not as durable as the other nokia phones thats all i can say about it. Well, it is up to the user on how he/she can handle it and make it last for a long period of time.

  27. cristians said,

    November 24, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Guys ;
    I had a same experience. So i decided to add some info on this just check out.

    http://zonexyz.blogspot.com/2008/11/nokia-n99-disgrace-to-nokia-outfit.html

    cheers

  28. Sean said,

    November 27, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    I am looking at this phone too. Here are the specs of the model I am getting:
    Specifications:
    • TRI Band
    • DUAL SIM SWITCHING
    • Touch Screen
    • 5.0 Megapixel Camera with Auto Focus, NO FLASH!
    • DUAL Camera
    • Built in FM Radio
    • Built in TV w/ antenna – No subscription needed
    • MP3 Player
    • MP4 Player
    • Video / Audio Recorder
    • Multi language support – English, Chinese, etc.
    • WAP, GPRS, SMS, MMS, Voice Mail
    • Bluetooth
    • 256MB Memory included upgradable to 4gig microsd (2gig proven and tested ok)
    • Display Screen: High Resolution Color
    • Input Device: Keypad, Onscreen keypad
    • Sound output: 3D Loudspeaker
    • Voice Recorder: WAV, AMR format for selection
    • User friendly icons
    • TV antenna also the stylus
    • Mode of input – Keypad / touch pad
    • Game Simulator

    General Information:
    Provider & SIM card: Work for any SIM Card & any Tele Company, SIM Card Unlocked
    Cellular enhancement protocol: GSM, GPRS (provided from your country Telecom)
    USB: 2.0 High Speed Transfer
    Language: Multi Language support (English, Chinese, etc)

  29. hayesha said,

    November 27, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Hi Sean,

    Compared with the features that are in my one you have got a better offer. BTW if you are plaining to buy it you better use it with great care coz it’s hard to find parts if any of the part got broken, specially with the data transfer cable.

    cheers

  30. ethanclyde said,

    December 4, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Hi!

    I bought n99i earlier it cost me 50$

  31. dee said,

    December 12, 2008 at 2:43 am

    I paid 100.00 us I love the phone

  32. mustoin said,

    December 18, 2008 at 7:59 am

    hi.. iam indonesian , ihave it9n99i) from my father. he bought it only $100,00 and as cost as in online shoop.

  33. Niki said,

    December 22, 2008 at 10:39 am

    This is not original Nokia phone but it’s a clone. If you have paid more than 140$ for it then you have been cheated. Also if you need a phone for a long time, this is a bad choice because it won’t last to long.

  34. sajanzoysa said,

    January 1, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    ah yes yes…..see this

    http://www.4sajz.blogspot.com/

  35. bobbie said,

    January 8, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    E-Mail support@fabtech.net
    Phone (877) 560-7290
    I broke my lcd screen and i called this place. This is the place my phone was shipped from… It cost me 50 dollars plus shipping and it took about a week and a half to return…

  36. eploks said,

    January 9, 2009 at 8:38 am

    i bought it about two weeks ago and costs me about 4,000PHP it’s about 85USD…. the phone theme suck and trying to find a way to change it do you have any idea?

  37. George said,

    January 10, 2009 at 12:00 am

    does anyone know how to convert videos using SUPER (or any other appropriate video converting software) for that TOSHIBO N99i?

  38. Dileepa said,

    January 11, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Hi guys,

    I read all these comments and i propose we should not go for these Chinese phones, simply because they dont have smooth functioning as in Nokia phones. We in Sri Lanka can buy N99i for about Rs 13,000 (USD 120). It seems reasonable. But we should not opt for it. I have used a phone called Nokia – N95 – Manufactured in China. It looks very nice in appearance, but the worst in functioning. I think N99i would not make much difference.
    Thanks!

    Dileepa

  39. richard olid said,

    January 27, 2009 at 7:52 am

    I bought the unit simply for television.. all my friends want to buy the same it cost me US$80 only. very simple to operate but you have a very classic device. I started to explore the functionalities and very happy about it.

  40. jesse said,

    February 18, 2009 at 9:43 am

    i had my first China phone like one and a half years ago, and i can say that it hasn’t given me any problem. in fact, i’m a fan of China phones. i love them!

    some of the features they have that made me go for them is the Analog TV function, dual sim active on standby (no need to switch it off to change sim cards), loud speaker, touchscreen, etc. I think the only downside would be the camera, but then I can live with it.

    And for a price of around $85-$100, i think it’s a good deal. I believe it just depends on the user on how he will take care of the phone for it to last long. :)

  41. Guruprakash said,

    May 22, 2009 at 9:01 am

    Hi guys,

    I am from India. I want to purchase dual sim mobile. so my friend suggested to take N99i. She leaves in singapore. so please give your suggestions about the phone. how it works? how much in cost? is it worth buying? etc.,

    I dont understand how can different people gets different features phones? some one has mentioned 5megapixel camera, someone mention 1.3mp camera..

    Pls.. clarrify my doubts..

    Regards
    Guru

  42. hayesha said,

    May 22, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Hi Guru,

    My suggestion is you should not go for any Chinese phone if your consider about the quality and the durability.

    Cheers

  43. Luke said,

    May 27, 2009 at 12:26 am

    it will be the best phone you can get it has a very loud speaker good for music and with the 5 megapixel camera its perfect but it dont have gps

  44. Wes said,

    June 18, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    does anybody have a copy of the owners manual for the n99i? maybe you can post it for everybody…. thanks

  45. mike said,

    June 24, 2009 at 3:51 am

    I got my new Nokia N99i phone. I like it. It has 5.0 megapixel (unlike the older post above which says they have 1.3 mp)

    Got it for $80! ;)

  46. jonathan said,

    July 8, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    hello,i buy 1 pc of nokia n99i then i have accidentally falled it down then the lcd of my phone was broken no images at all?can u pls give me any service center to fixed my phone?and any details how much the lcd and the service fee?now im in taiwan any location of nokia service center here?thank u!!!!!!!!!hope u send me responce bout my problem

  47. lochi said,

    July 19, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I buyed the original n99i for $793
    really cool
    with amzing features
    8.1 megapixles
    32GB in built memory
    and beautiful themes
    super cool!!!!^&*)*I%&$#%$#%

  48. Xolani said,

    July 20, 2009 at 1:38 pm

    hey ther ppl i my aunt bought the phone phone for me (n99i) myn is 2megapixels. i am having allot of probz wid it the first prob was that is language is chineese i hav tried to make english bt the main menu is still chineese, no 2 i cant seem to set ringtones of my choice even if i unda go the full settings procedur it still uses the same chineese tone it hav come to the point that im nt using it at all now. please anyone help. mail me @ zwanex@vodamail.co.za cheerz

  49. julie ann said,

    August 31, 2009 at 3:26 am

    ..gUyZz!..wat is the difference of china phone to original phone??
    and how many years that china phone can still??..
    ..plzZ.answer my quEstion!!..i want oNly 2 know what are there differences..thankz!!;)

  50. julie ann said,

    August 31, 2009 at 3:28 am

    plz visit meh!..
    julieanncawigan@yahoo.com

  51. fran said,

    September 5, 2009 at 7:55 am

    got this n99i v9+i phone from a friend. couldn’t remember the password.
    i only got 2 trials left. is there a way to reset to default without going to the hazzles of password??? your input is geatly appreciated. thanks.

  52. Fritz Katso said,

    September 5, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    My audio player does not function well. It plays and then stops followed by machine itself going off

  53. Nutt said,

    September 12, 2009 at 7:24 am

    hi i got this N99i from Laos and it cost me about $100 but my don’t have any internet so i think they copy from china

  54. Nutt said,

    September 12, 2009 at 7:26 am

    oh if you know about mine phone please tell me at newtonnuttapong@yahoo.com

  55. ricardo said,

    September 13, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    hola recien acabo de comprar el movil nokia n99i y mi problema es q quiero meterle musica y no se como hacerlo ya he tratado de hacerlo de muchas formas pero nada de nada xfavor si alguien sabe como escribirme al correo rrhklr_3128@hotmail.com

  56. Mike said,

    November 8, 2009 at 3:06 am

    My wife and I just bought two of these phones in the Philippines for $60.00 each. Looks like a good deal to me!

  57. Mike said,

    November 8, 2009 at 3:08 am

    Oh, forgot to mention…phone has 5 megapixel cam.

  58. caleb said,

    December 4, 2009 at 9:56 am

    umm im in new zealand and i got this n99i knockoff and im wondering how to put music on the memory card and make it play…. the phone itself has shitty memory and i’ve tried to access the memory card but i just cant do it!! pleaase help me!!! step by step please…..

  59. caleb said,

    December 4, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Ricardo. yo también tengo el mismo problema con el n99i … si usted tiene alguna información por favor, la publicaremos en este sitio.(Prefiero que haya escrito en Inglés)

  60. kat said,

    December 8, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    hi all! i have this fake nokia n99i+ since 2 days ago, and i’m fine with it, so far..
    but i need help bec i cant link it to my laptop (using VISTA), as it is impossible for it to identify the driver…do you know any driver or pc suite to use for downloading and uploading files if you use a n99i+??

    thanx for helping

  61. John said,

    December 11, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I paid 3,500 Philippine Pesos for the phone and it came without any manual in the box, so it looks like everyone else got shafted on the price including me as I see them for sale at $60 US each if you buy 10 of them from the manufacturer. Actually I only paid the equivalent of a $14 markup from the bulk price, so not bad. Does anyone know how to change the background in the message area as it is dark brown with some sort of gold balls in it and hard to read the print even with high light in background.

  62. caleb said,

    December 15, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    grrrrr! someone tell me how to access my memory card! is it impossible? wtf?

  63. Fank said,

    February 15, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    Hi,i bought the KLOTOTEL its a fake N99i from China ,I need software do you know that thanks

  64. Caleb said,

    March 12, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    For F@#$s Sake its been four months and i dontt know how to access my memory card!!! HELP ME OUT!!!!!!

  65. Caleb said,

    March 12, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    !!!!!!! I NEED HELP!!!!!!

  66. louie said,

    April 7, 2010 at 5:22 am

    Caleb, you have to take to phone dealer, they will replace or upgrade it for you

  67. louie said,

    April 7, 2010 at 5:40 am

    I upgraded mine with 4G and it works fine, only I broke my charger (cable)

  68. jersan duarte said,

    August 22, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    Tengoun nokia n99i esta inactivodesdehacecomoun año, comprado en usa y
    actualmente ennicaragua, pero alponerle el chikceste nofunciona, quiero saberque es lo que tengo que hacer, cambiar el ofltwareporquesedice que no son bloqueados estos telefonos.

  69. Mike said,

    September 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Yeah i bought it for $79 …
    HOW TO THE FUCK DO I TURN ON THE GPRS ??? PM ME ON SKYPE : xdlogger

  70. impe said,

    September 28, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    good day ma’am,
    which is better? samsung star tv or n99i? tnx..

  71. hayesha said,

    September 29, 2010 at 4:18 am

    Hi impe,

    I rather recommends you to go for samsung star tv if it’s not the original Nokia n99i coz it’s waste of you money.

    cheers,

  72. Prabhat said,

    September 3, 2012 at 2:54 am

    I have a nokia n99i and its look like as chines handset pls help me


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,050 other followers

